DownsizeDC.org
January 17, 2006
President Bush can't wait & Media appearance
By Jim Babka
Today's Downsizer-Dispatch... We want to thank the DC Downsizers who helped fund the start of our RTBA media campaign. The first fruits are announced later in this message. In other words, we have our first interviews of 2006 scheduled (details below)! Thank you to the 144 people who've provided $11,566 thus far. We're very excited. And very soon you'll also see the launch of a campaign to stop Senator John McCain's bill to put grassroots lobbying groups, like DownsizeDC.org, "on ice." Plus, next week we hope to start introducing you to our very exciting new plan for lobbying Congress to pass RTBA. This plan is very achievable, we think, but 1,000 times more effective than anything we've done before. Meanwhile, President Bush can't wait for renewal of his Patriot Act powers, and so we must move quickly to deal with his impatience. Congress nearly worked out a deal to delay the sunset of certain Patriot Act powers for six months. The purpose of this extension was to provide time to create "safeguards" for the use of those powers. But President Bush wants the process to move forward now. So he brokered his own deal to reduce the delay from six months to one month. Frankly, we think the idea of safeguards is useless. President Bush has already shown his willingness to ignore all such provisions. The Democrats want to lull us to sleep by adding yet another layer of useless bureaucracy on top of all the other layers that have proved so ineffective in the past. It's time to tell Congress once again to let the Patriot Act provisions SUNSET. We have to keep hammering them, to make them as nervous as possible. To send your message to Congress click here. My first INTERVIEWS of 2006 1) Talk Radio - Local (FLA), Internet, & Satellite DATE: Wednesday, January 18, 2006 TIME: 3 PM Eastern 2 PM Central 1 PM Mountain Noon Pacific LENGTH: 1 hour SHOW: Fate of Nations with Brett Folks NETWORK: First Amendment Radio Network TOPIC: Read the Bills Act How to hear the show... INTERNET: firstamendmentradio.com/listen (Real Player or Winamp required) SATELLITE: Telstar 5 KU Band Frequency: 11836 - Symbol Rate: 20.770 - Vertical Polarization - PID: 62 - Right Channel FLAGSHIP AFFILIATE: 95.3 FM, WXEI, in Crestview, Florida - heard from South into Ft Lauderdale and North into Southern Alabama. You can call in to the show at... (559) 781-3773 2) Talk Radio – Local (St. Louis)& Internet DATE: Thursday, January 19, 2006 TIME: 11 AM Eastern 10 AM Central 9 AM Mountain 8 AM Pacific LENGTH: 1 hour SHOW: Brett Rosen STATION: Radio Free St. Louis, AM-920 WGNU TOPIC: Read the Bills Act How to hear the show... INTERNET: wgnu.net/live (Windows Media Player required) LOCAL: St. Louis AM-920, WGNU You can call in to the show at... Local 314-454-0400 or 877-920-WGNU Thank you for being a DC Downsizer. Jim Babka President DownsizeDC.org, Inc. P.S. Monthly pledgers give us consistency - a source of revenue on which we can rely. That consistency allows us to plan, experiment, take calculated risks, innovate, and expand. We still need to increase our level of support. Please, join us. P.P.S. Just a reminder, I will be speaking in San Diego on Saturday, January 28 at the San Diego Libertarian Party convention. I'd love to see you there. Click here for details.
Blog commenting is currently under construction. In the meantime, you can send an email if there's something you'd like to tell us.

What Can We Do For You?

We can help you downsize the federal government, if you want that. All you have to do is join. It's free! In return...

We'll give you an army.

We're recruiting a huge army of supporters to work for what you want.

We'll give you influence.

The Downsize DC Army will exert relentless, resistance-numbing pressure on Congress.

We'll make your voice heard.

We'll use our growing army to make your beliefs heard by everyone, everywhere, every day.

We'll give you winning strategies.

Ideas like our "Read the Bills Act" and the "One Subject at a Time Act" will give you the leverage to win the public debate, control Congress, and Downsize DC!

We'll give you powerful tools.

  • Your free membership includes a subscription to our free email newsletter, the Consent Chronicle, which national talk show host Jerry Hughes calls by far the best newsletter he receives.
  • You'll be able to use our Educate the Powerful SystemSM to pressure Congress. It's easy. All it takes is a few mouse clicks and keyboard strokes. You can do it in your bathrobe while you're drinking your morning coffee, or during a break at work.
  • You'll also gain access to our 16-page strategy document, "The Downsize DC Vision." You'll learn about important insights like "ignoring an axiom," and powerful strategies like "picking off the herd." One reader called this document "the unified field theory" of political change.

To gain these benefits, just enter your email address in the box below and hit Subscribe!

Subscribe to the Consent Chronicle
Enter your email address twice: